Looking Back… and Forward

binders for classes
Teaching Materials

This won’t be “news” to friends, family, and students, however, others may not know, so here is my big announcement:

Six months ago (August 2013) I officially retired from Monterey Peninsula College where I taught Jewelry and Metal Arts classes for nearly 30 years! Over the years, as a part-time instructor, I taught more than 20 different special topic classes in addition to the basic and advanced metals classes… some more than 40 times, a few only once. I really enjoyed the research, writing, sample making, and learning, that went into every class I taught. The binders full of instruction, photos, resource lists, etc., that I created for each class, are a record of those classes and also a reminder of the many wonderful students who made teaching such a fulfilling endeavor. Their enthusiasm, creativity, and appreciation, helped keep my own creative energy flowing.

I am frequently asked, “Are you enjoying retirement?” Well… yes and no. I like having more time for my own work and for gardening, but I miss teaching. I miss the camaraderie of the classroom, as well as the focus required for preparing new demos and improving on content. I am thinking about how I can continue, or return to, the process somehow. Since so many are sharing their knowledge via the web, maybe this is the way; it is certainly something to think about. For now, I am working on updating and expanding a PowerPoint presentation that I can convert to a PDF for sharing here. This one is for Color on Metal, a workshop I presented in 2010. Meanwhile, here is one sample that I created for that class:

color on metal - paint
acrylic paint sample

Water based acrylic paint on textured copper.

5 thoughts on “Looking Back… and Forward

  1. Dorothy February 22, 2014 / 11:11 pm

    Carol….We miss you too!! Having a presence on the web is a great idea. I love looking at your pin interest board, is that what you call it? Anyway…staying connected is hard, we all get into our singular lives and routines. So using the web is a great idea! Take care and I look forward to seeing your forum, blog or website…maybe even YouTube?

  2. Carol Holaday February 22, 2014 / 11:27 pm

    Thanks Dorothy. How are you managing to stay connected in retirement? New content and sharing will most likely happen here on this blog. I still have a lot to learn about posting slide shows, tutorials (maybe video), etc…. just know it is all possible. Pinterest is a great way to share what we love … with anyone interested in looking… using images that link to content. I spend way too much time doing that because it is so fun and easy.

  3. Olga Sitnik February 23, 2014 / 4:42 am

    Carol, I feel very lucky that I was able to take a class with you before you retired! I wish I had started my metalwork journey earlier so I could have more of your classes under the belt… The ring-making class I took with you was so informative and I learned so much! I use the ring sizing chart practically everyday making rings for my Etsy customers, friends and myself. It’s a priceless chart for me and I made a copy and laminated it. I keep all of the other notes and material you provided us and often refer to them. And I am looking forward to reading everything you share here and learning some more from you!
    Thank you!
    Olga

    • Carol Holaday February 23, 2014 / 8:52 pm

      Olga, thank you for your comments. I feel I could learn a lot from you as well and am sorry I didn’t have the chance to know you better via the classroom. I greatly admire the way you have developed your Esty shops and how quickly you have grown your metal working skills and designs.

  4. Janice March 23, 2014 / 11:20 pm

    Happy Retirement Carol!!! ENJOY! 🙂

Leave a comment